The Taj Classic Wine Trophy 2015 Results

The Reserve at Taj Cape Town played host to a luxurious reception on the evening of 6 March 2015 to announce the winners of the coveted Taj Classic Wine Trophy 2015.

Master of Ceremonies, Nicola Jackman, awarded coveted Bacchus Trophies to sixteen of the many wines which were entered into this year’s competition.


The awards ceremony saw the culmination of the rigorous judging process that took place between 2 and 5 March 2015 and sought to recognize, reward and promote elegance, balance, finesse, ageability and sense of place achieved by vignerons in South Africa.

The judge’s panel was given the task of uncovering wines possessing these unique traits and comprised: Olivier Poels, editor and managing partner of La Revue du VIN de France and wine commentator for Europe 1 radio; Olivier Poussier, best sommelier in the world winner, wine consultant, writer and group sommelier of Lenôtre; Claude Gilois, well-known French wine writer, consultant and wine blogger; Thierry Germain proprietor of Domaine des Roches Neuves, Saumur; Christophe Durand, Taj Classic Wine Trophy organizer and proprietor of DORRANCE Wines; Tatiana Marcetteau, sommelier at Taj Cape Town; Stephane Duvernes, proprietor of wine distributor Les Chais St Laurent, Paris ; Germain Lehodey, sommelier of Mosaic restaurant; Xavier Didier, former sommelier at Tantris, Munich; Jerome Faure, corporate sommelier Constance Hotels and Resorts, Mauritius; and Todd Ramsey from Marram wine Importers, Canada.

Bacchus Trophy winners will be listed in La Revue du VIN de France 2015 and promoted at Salon de La Revue du VIN de France in Paris in May 2015. The winners were as follows:

Bubbly and White Wine

  • Secret Cellar Blanc de Blanc MCC NV
  • Boutinot Mon Vieux Sauvignon Blanc 2014
  • Delaire Graff White Blend 2012
  • De Morgenzon Reserve Chenin Blanc 2014
  • Glen Carlou Chardonnay 2014
  • Hamilton Russell Vineyards Chardonnay 201

Red Wine

  • Sumaridge Pinot Noir 2012
  • Groot Constantia Pinotage 2013
  • Chamonix Greywacke Pinotage 2012
  • Groot Constantia Cabernet Sauvignon 2012
  • Bellingham The Bernard Series Basket Press Syrah 2013
  • Boschkloof Epilogue Shiraz 2012
  • Groot Constantia Merlot 2013
  • Morgenster 2001
  • Webersburg Cabernet Sauvignon/ Merlot/ Petit Verdot 2011
  • Saronsberg Full Circle 2012

The prize for the Most Iconic Entry of 2015 was awarded to Groot Constantia, whose winemaker Boela Gerber walked away with a pair of new barriques sponsored by distinguished coopers Tonnellerie Claude Gillet and Tonnellerie Darnajou.

In addition, a local judging panel then decided which of the trophy winners presented the best overall value to patrons of the Taj Cape Town and readers of GQ South Africa. This panel was convened by wine judge Jonathan Steyn and consisted of: Christian Eedes – Editor of and prominent wine judge; Khuselo Mputa – Sommelier at Grande Provence; Craig Tyson – Editor of GQ magazine South Africa; Jeanri-Tine van Zyl – columnist for; Michael Pownall – Group General Manager of Taj Cape Town; Tatiana MarcetteauSommelier at Taj Cape Town.

The winners were:

  • Secret Cellar Blanc de Blanc MCC NV
  • De Morgenzon Reserve Chenin Blanc 2014
  • Hamilton Russell Vineyards Chardonnay 2014
  • Groot Constantia Merlot 2013
  • Webersburg Cabernet Sauvignon/ Merlot/ Petit Verdot 2011
  • Saronsberg Full Circle 2012

The awarded wines were presented with certificates of recognition and will be showcased in GQ South Africa and served in the Taj Cape Town restaurants during the month of June 2015. These restaurants include the Bombay Brasserie, Mint, the Local Grill and the Twankey Bar.

This entry was posted in Restaurant News, Wine and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.